Moving To The Good Ol’ U.S.A.

There are moments where I question where I am. I wake up and ask why mum hasn’t woken me up yet. And then I blink awake and I remember. I live in New Brunswick, New Jersey.

I have always said America is a land of opposites. The fat and the thin. The healthy and the fast food. The rich and the poor. The overachievers and the underachievers. Well, living here I can only state that again and again. I’m constantly confused and yet in love with the U.S. Especially New York.

Yellow Cabs

Firstly, let me talk about Rutgers, New Brunswick; my home until May 13th this year.

New Brunswick is a college town with an inordinate amount of fast food and yet no McDonalds. You can pick up fast food from most stores on the main street and on the streets surrounding it. A college attitude for a college town. I am at Chipoltle quite often buying a Burrito bowl with brown rice, black beans and a heap of salad. Yummm, Oh I will miss that place when I leave America.

imgp0533
Here’s something contradictory though. New Brunswick is the ‘Healthcare City’. ‘scuse Me? Yup, you heard me. This means that I spend a lot of time, when I should be sleeping, with my pillow over my head moaning about sirens passing every 3 minutes. Sometimes that will go on the whole night.

I live right smack bang in the middle of the city of New Brunswick.

living

I’ll be honest, I don’t really live the typical college life. I like dancing and music but I’ve never been too keen on standing around all night. I could do that anywhere really. I spend my time taking photos, shopping online, watching YouTube videos and planning my trip to Europe in June/July. Living on the edge fo’ sure.

I have discovered a love of photography. I am slowly learning what makes a ‘good photo’ and how to play with what is in front of my lens.

imgp0279
There are four campuses around where I live, though Rutgers has two more in NJ. Some of these are particularly gorgeous spots with large open spaces and old manor houses. Sometimes I get the urge to wander around and slip into these old buildings, but I know many of them are locked office buildings. Oh the woe.
imgp0142

Living by yourself (well away from family) for the first time is an eye-opening experience. I have had to develop the will the cook for myself every day (still not quite there) and the worst of all, to do my laundry. Every time I have to do laundry it is because I am down to no underwear and pjs. I am a classy lady.

Really though. Living away from home is tough. You have no support system and must figure out and deal with most things by yourself. In the two months I have been away I believe I have really started to figure out that no, I don’t have everything figured out. I won’t settle for ordinary because doing odd things is so refreshing and makes me really believe in life. When I go home to Sydney, it will not be forever but a stopover in great plans.

Β 

2 thoughts on “Moving To The Good Ol’ U.S.A.

  1. LOL! Welcome to blogging! But where do you originate from newbie? And your “about” made me laugh!

Leave Your Thoughts, Comments, Suggestions! :)

