The City That Froze My Toes Near Off Part. 1

IMGP0820

The one and only, Montreal.

Montreal was a city where I found myself asking if I actually owned enough clothes to keep myself warm.

I will admit I’m a bit of a wimp when it comes to the cold, but if you grow up in South East Asia and Australia, really, what else can you expect?

It was freezing but the snow gave Montreal a beautiful edge and I would not change the experience for anything. I just spent a lot more on coffee and sitting in cafes then I normally may have.

The trip up to Montreal is easily made via a 10 hour train trip from Penn Station, NYC (and no I’m not being sarcastic, it was great!). On Wednesday, March 20th. I woke up at 4am, grabbed my bags, ate a banana and headed off to catch the 5:30 bus. (I may be a bit anal with being early for travel trips…)

The bus into New York is honestly one of my favourite parts of living in New Brunswick. Every time I’m just amazed at the views on a stretch of road that helix’s and gives a view of the isle of Manhattan probably more impressive than any tourists will ever see. Sadly I never seem to have my camera with me to catch it! (Perhaps this weekend?)

It snowed the day before my trip up so for ten hours I saw breathtaking views of mountains tipped with sugary looking snow. I also passed lakes completely frozen over, and at one spot, 3 men ice fishing. Now that I think about it, don’t you think that sounds a bit like a tv show? The point is, this train trip can only be described as stunningly beautiful. Sheer cliffs and vast expanses of nature.

IMGP0568 IMGP0587

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Well now to the actual city!

One of my favourite spots in Montreal is their Central Station. Not only is it huge and filled with interesting things. There is a massive underground shopping centre attached to it! What could be better?!

I was making my way to my hosts apartment and was confronted by the breathtaking amount of snow, it was just everywhere! For an Aussie girl, well actually, for anyone not Canadian it probably is quite a moment. A moment where you realise that no your boots are not quite waterproof at all. Love traveling in the snow? Buy good boots!

And because I apparently rattle on like an old lady, I shall be splitting Montreal into two parts. Keep tuned!

 

Leave Your Thoughts, Comments, Suggestions! :)

