A Guide to: Singapore

Singapore is a place where culture and fashion collide, it is incredibly fun and an absolute adventure visiting the country. You just have to know where to go. Today, I’m telling you the places I love best and the experiences you can not miss.

SIngaporeWhere to eat:

Locally!
I recommend eating at the hawker centers or in eateries at least once! The best authentic food will be there, not at expensive restaurants on Orchard Road. Always ask a local (i.e. reception or host) for advice though, as some are a lot better than others.Little India, Singapore

Little India
Great curries with authentic flavour can be found from basically any shop in Little India. Choose from vegetarian or not and enjoy the amazing meal.

What to do:

The Singapore Zoo and Night Safari
The Zoo is one of my favourite places in Singapore and the best zoo I have been to. The Night Safari is an incredible experience that I have not seen produced anywhere else. They are right next to each other and you can grab some great dinner in the Safari during the hour between the zoo closing and the safari opening.

See the Merlion
An iconic experience of Singapore. I last went to Singapore with a friend who had never been to Singapore and when we went to see the Merlion it was shut! I would advise checking for any construction before you go.

Universal Studios
An incredibly fun day! It is not massive but with lines, food breaks and fireworks you can spend the whole day here. Personally I loved the Ancient Egypt area and the rides, Jurassic Park Rapids Adventure and Revenge of the Mummy.

Where to Shop:

P7150044Orchard Road
The premier shopping area of Singapore, Orchard Road has all the best stores from Gucci to H&M and it is 2.2 kilometers long! As an Australian I may have gone little mad in the 3 story H&M…

Little India and China Town
Little India has Mustafa Centre, a 24/7 department store that has everything you could ever think of. We managed to get lost in the centre! China Town is amazing for little gifts and mementos for yourself and friends.

Little India marketWhere to Stay:

Unfortunately I can not really help with where to stay as I have never had to pay for accommodation in Singapore, the perks of growing up there!

I have included a pick of places from Singapore, my own favourites, if you have other ideas comment below πŸ™‚

Should I continue this “a guide to” idea? I have ideas for New York,
Chicago, London, and a few others! Any advice to make the article
better, let me know in the comments πŸ™‚

P.S. Most photos in this post are creative commons use and the photographers can be found by clicking on them. My last trip was before I took up photography so please excuse the lack of my own photos!

2 thoughts on “A Guide to: Singapore

Leave Your Thoughts, Comments, Suggestions! :)

